Face The Music 41: Wow!

arwulf arwulf is holding forth at WCBN-FM, Ann Arbor with his weekly dose of great music in this third of eighteen playlists coordinated by the numeral nine, with music by William Albright, Jabbo Smith’s Rhythm Aces, the Port of Harlem Jazzmen, Meade Lux Lewis, the Mound City Blue Blowers with Coleman Hawkins, Fats Waller, Johnny Dodds Hot Six, Tiny Parham & his Musicians, James P. Johnson & his Orchestra, Wilbur Sweatman’s Original Jazz Band, King Oliver & his Orchestra, Duke Ellington & his Famous Orchestra, Erskine Hawkins & his Orchestra, the John Kirby Sextet, Illinois Jacquet, Lennie Tristano and Miles Davis.
The John Sinclair Foundation Presents
arwulf arwulf, WCBN-FM, Ann Arbor, September 19, 2019 [19581]
William Albright: Original Scott Joplin Rags
Jabbo Smith’s Rhythm Aces: Sleepy Time Blues
Port of Harlem Jazzmen: Daybreak Blues
Meade Lux Lewis: The Blues (Part 3)
Mound City Blue Blowers with Coleman Hawkins: One Hour
Fats Waller: Numb Fumbling
Johnny Dodds Hot Six: Pencil Papa
Tiny Parham & his Musicians: Blue Melody Blues No.2
James P. Johnson & his Orchestra: Old Fashioned Love
Wilbur Sweatman’s Original Jazz Band: Ja-Da
King Oliver & his Orchestra: My Good Man Sam
Duke Ellington & his Famous Orchestra: Doing the Voom Voom
Erskine Hawkins & his Orchestra: Let the Punishment Fit the Crime
John Kirby Sextet: Anitra’s Dance
Illinois Jacquet: B-Yot
Lennie Tristano: Wow!
Miles Davis: Freddie The Freeloader
Hosted by arwulf arwulf for Radio Free Amsterdam
Produced & recorded by arwulf arwulf at WCBN-FM, Ann Arbor
Post-production, editing & annotatation by John Sinclar
Executive Producer: Steve Pratt
© 2019 arwulf arwulf. Used with permission.