Highway 61 Blues 40: Shake ‘Em On Down

Scott Barretta is featuring music this week from North Mississippi Hill Country blues artists, with Mississippi Fred McDowell, R.L. Burnside, Junior Kimbrough & the Soul Blues Boys, David Kimbrough, Duane Burnside, Sharde Thomas & the Rising Star Fife & Drum Band, Afrissippi, T-Model Ford, Robert “Wolfman” Balfour, Kenny Brown, Alvin “Youngblood” Hart, and Bobby Rush—much of it recorded at the North Mississippi Hill Country Picnic at Potts Camp outside of Oxford, Mississippi.


The John Sinclair Foundation Presents



Scott Barretta, Mississippi Public Broadcasting, June 30, 2008 [18285]


Mississippi Fred McDowell: Shake ’Em On Down

R.L. Burnside: Old Black Mattie

Junior Kimbrough & the Soul Blues Boys: Stay All Night

David Kimbrough: All Night Long

Duane Burnside: Outskirts of Town

Sharde Thomas & the Rising Star Fife & Drum Band: Shimmy

Afrissippi: Songa

T-Model Ford: I Love You Babe

Robert “Wolfman” Balfour: Bad Luck

Kenny Brown: You Don’t Know My Mind

Alvin “Youngblood” Hart: In My Time of Dying

Bobby Rush: Get Back

T-Model Ford: Mojo Working



Hosted by Scott Barretta for Radio Free Amsterdam

Produced & recorded by Joe Yorke at the University of Mississippi

Post-production, editing & annotation by John Sinclair

Executive Producer: Steve Pratt


© 2008, 2018 Scott Barretta. Used with permission.