Sounds of Blue 213: Feel Your Groove

arwulf arwulf is holding forth at WCBN-FM, Ann Arbor with his weekly dose of great music in this fifth of eighteen playlists coordinated by the numeral nine, as played by Willie the Lion Smith, Fats Waller, Tiny Parham & his Musicians, Jones & Collins Astoria Hot Eight, Albert Ammons, Jimmy Yancey, King Oliver & his Orchestra, Port of Harlem Jazzmen, Frankie Newton & his Orchestra, James Reese Europe’s 369th Hellfighters Band, Wilbur Sweatman’s Original Jazz Band, Coleman Hawkins & the Mound City Blue Blowers, Eddie Condon & his Band, Jabbo Smith’s Rhythm Aces, Duke Ellington & his Famous Orchestra, and Count Basie & his Orchestra.

The John Sinclair Foundation Presents



arwulf arwulf, WCBN-FM, Ann Arbor, September 26, 2019 [19599]

Willie the Lion Smith: Morning Air

Fats Waller: Valentine Stomp

Tiny Parham & his Musicians: Tiny’s Stomp

Jones & Collins Astoria Hot Eight: Duet Stomp

Albert Ammons: Boogie Woogie Stomp

Jimmy Yancey: Yancey Stomp

King Oliver & his Orchestra: Call of the Freaks

Port of Harlem Jazzmen: Port of Harlem Blues

Frankie Newton & his Orchestra: Rosetta

James Reese Europe’s 369th Hellfighters Band: St. Louis Blues

Wilbur Sweatman’s Original Jazz Band: Kansas City Blues

Coleman Hawkins & the Mound City Blue Blowers: Hello Lola

Eddie Condon & his Band: Strut Miss Lizzie

Jabbo Smith’s Rhythm Aces: Jazz Battle

Duke Ellington & his Famous Orchestra: Cotton Club Stomp

Count Basie & his Orchestra: Miss Thing    


Hosted by arwulf arwulf for Radio Free Amsterdam

Produced & recorded by arwulf arwulf at WCBN-FM, Ann Arbor

Post-production, editing & annotatation by John Sinclar

Executive Producer: Steve Pratt


© 2019 arwulf arwulf. Used with permission.