“Het eerste wat opvalt aan het werk van Rudy Henriquez (Curaçao 1958) is de directheid en sterke emotionele lading. Ook politieke statements zijn op een gevoelsmatige manier vormgegeven. Zijn karakteristieke stijl is herkenbaar aan krachtige vormen en kleuren. Veel van zijn werken omarmen de ruimte. Dit komt vooral tot uiting bij de moeder-en-kind-pinguins en de verlichte moslima-serie: de vrouw binnen de boerka is niet uitgebeeld, al suggereert het kledingstuk van alles. In beide series zijn de gevoelens en gedachten in de ruimte gesitueerd en is het aan de toeschouwer om daar een eigen interpretatie aan te geven.”


The band formed in Amsterdam 2007 and played at local venues and festivals, including The Nieuwe Anita, Cafe’ Batavia, The Buurvrouw, Magneet Festival, Queens Day, Pacific Parc West, The Pick Up Club, CCC, The Oki, Cafe Zen, Eddie The Eagle Museum, Blijburg.

Vicente Pino has played guitar since a young age coming up in Venezuela playing everything from thrash to Django Reinhardt. Since moving to settle in the Netherlands, Pino has played in dozens of bands, performing many hundreds of shows. As the co-founder of the beloved band ‘Supercity’, he has helped write and produce 2 albums, and remains the central axis of energy for the band. Another project, ‘Pino and the Bluebirds’ is well worth tracking down, and playing at high volume.

Steve Fly Pratt is a drummer and DJ, who met up with Vicente after moving to Amsterdam in 2007, thanks to a mutual friend. Fly wrote the lyrics to all the songs on this album, while the music was teased out between both of them, together with the priceless feedback from Tim Egmond at the controls.

Vicente and Steve Fly have worked together with their friend and poet John Sinclair, and initiated into the prestigious open ended ‘Blues Scholars’ an international collective of musicians who play together with John. The Amsterdam Blues Scholars recorded an album together in 2010. And they both joined with New Orleans pianist and composer Tom Worrel, and virtuoso bassist and composer Leslie Lopez to record ‘Let’s Go Get Em’ in 2011. In 2011 and 2012 The Blues Scholars performed as a part of the 24th and 25th High Times Cannabis Cup celebrations. All of which can be found on youtube.

Occupy is the first studio album by Steve Fly and Vicente Pino a.k.a Dr Marshmallow Cubicle. In 2009 DMC joined with vocalist Miss Marshmallow for live shows, and this Occupy album. She can be heard singing on Stop The Cuts, Bluezero and Thoughts.

The DMC duo follow an improvisational framework, always inventing and moving the music in perpetually new directions. Polyrhythmic drums kick out a scatter shot across the layers of analogue feedback, loops and roughneck guitar playing. A species of experimental breakbeat punk, DMC explore many tempos and harmonic environments on the fly.

Occupy captures the various influences in the band, noticeably drum and bass, funk metal, blues and jazz. Plus the name of the album captures the brief period in 2011 when for just a moment, seemingly, global citizens united under a movement to stand up the the big bully banks, major corporations and corrupt government. “Occupy your mind” encourages you to owning your own thoughts.

Special thanks: Vicente Pino, Tim Egmond, Mark Sampson, Miss Marshmallow, John Sinclair, Creature, Kasper, Chu, Saskia Smitt, Ivo Sprey, Leah Blits, Prop Anon, William Sutton, Daniel Bruggman, Dan Dewitte, Janne Svensson, Pim, Oscar Jan, Simon Reeves at Framework Studios. 

released November 9, 2017

All songs written and composed by Dr Marshmallow Cubicle (Pino and Pratt) lyrics by Steve Fly. All music recorded by Kasper at Kasper Studios 2010. Additional vocals, scratches and overdubs recorded and mixed by Tim Egmond at Ei-Complex studios, 2011/2012. Mastered by Simon Reeves at Framework Studios, Birmingham, March, 2016.

Vicente Pino – Guitars, Bass and Vocals
Steve Fly Pratt – Drums, Scratches
Miss Marshmallow – Vocals
Creature of Rebelmatic – Vocals (Let’s Go Get Em’)
Mark Sampson – Executive Producer
All Rights Reversed – Iron Man Records 2016.

New Cool Collective – Trippin’ Redux (featuring Tony Allen)

Our dear friend Tony Allen was going to turn eighty this year. To celebrate this we had planned to release a new rendition of the recordings we made with him about fifteen years ago. To congratulate him on his birthday, to wish him well for the future and to remember our joyful meetings.

Sadly, fate decided differently. Tony passed away suddenly. The numerous obituaries and personal stories from around the world show how special Tony had been. He was one of the founding fathers of Afro Beat, but his influence reached far beyond that.

To celebrate his contribution to music in general and to acknowledge the importance of our collaboration for our development as a group we feel we still should release this material.

This is our tribute to Tony, who was not only a fellow musician, but also a mentor and a real source of inspiration.


released May 29, 2020

Fly By Night 367 – Odum’s Cave

Recorded by Steve The Fly at Fly Agaric Studios, Amsterdam, with recordings by The Drifters, Lambert Hendricks & Ross, The Moonglows, The Larks, Eddie Jefferson, Miles Davis, Rahsaan Roland Kirk, Sun Ra, Akhon, Marcus Belgrave, John Sinclair, and Jay McShann.

The John Sinclair Foundation Presents
Steve The Fly, Fly Agaric 23 Studios, Amsterdam, May 24, 2020 [20336]
The Drifters: Saturday Night At The Movies
Lambert Hendricks & Ross: April in Paris
The Moonglows: The Beating of My Heart
The Larks: Margie
Eddie Jefferson: Yardbird Suite
Miles Davis: Pee Wee
Rahsaan Roland Kirk: inflated tear
Sun Ra: The Lady With the Golden Stockings
Akhon: Sun Ra
Marcus Belgrave: Odum’s Cave
John Sinclair: Beatnik Youth
Jay McShann: T’ain’t Nobody’s Bizness

Produced by Steve “Fly” Pratt for Radio Free Amsterdam (#19)
Edited & annotated by John Sinclair
Executive Producer: Steve Pratt

(c) 2020 Steve Pratt. Used with permission.


Recorded by Steve The Fly at Fly Agaric Studios, Amsterdam, with recordings by McCoy Tyner, Little Richard, Michael McClure, Bo Diddley, Fats Domino, Jimmy Reed, Hound Dog Taylor, and John Coltrane.

The John Sinclair Foundation Presents
Steve The Fly, Fly Agaric 23 Studios, Amsterdam, May 24, 2020 [20336]
McCoy Tyner: Richard 
Little Richard: Goodnight Irene
McCoy Tyner: Fly With The Wind
Michael McClure: Jane Harlow
Little Richard: Only You
McCoy Tyner: Beyond The Sun
Little Richard: Cherry Red
McCoy Tyner: You Stepped Out of a Dream
Little Richard: Whole Lotta Shakin’
Bo Diddley: Bad Trip
Fats Domino: It Keeps Raining
Little Richard: The Girl Can’t Help It
Jimmy Reed: I Wanna Be Loved
Little Richard: Send Me Some Loving
Hound Dog Taylor: Kitchen Sink Boogie
John Coltrane: Spiritual

Produced by Steve “Fly” Pratt for Radio Free Amsterdam (#19)
Edited & annotated by John Sinclair
Executive Producer: Steve Pratt

(c) 2020 Steve Pratt. Used with permission.