Retrospective 005: Reeling And Rocking / Ain’t That Good News

Two shows of back to back blues from Martino D Lorenzo and John Sinclair. Featuring the music of Chuck Berry, Buddy Guy, Elmore James, Albert King, Earl King, and a large dose of Muddy Waters, plus many more legends of the blues. Thanks for tuning in.Enjoy,

–Steve Fly

Big City Blues Cruise 57: Reeling And Rocking

Martino D’Lorenzo is playing the blues on 45s, 78s and LPs from behind the wheel of the Big City Blues Cruise bus, spinning his classic modern radio programs from the 1980s and 1990s originally aired on WEMU-FM in Ypsilanti MI and now heard every Saturday on Radio Free Amsterdam. Episode 57 features music by Red Prysock, Dr. John, Rockin’ Dopsie, Johnny “Guitar” Watson, Earl King, Percy Mayfield, Albert King, Clifton Chenier, Peter “Madcat” Ruth, The Blues Brothers, Elmore James, Chuck Berry, and Buddy Guy.

The John Sinclair Foundation Presents



Martino D’Lorenzo, WEMU-FM, Ypsilanti, circa 1983 [18361]

Red Prysock: Jumbo

Dr. John: Croaker Courtboullion

Rockin’ Dopsie: I’m Just A Country Boy

Rockin’ Dopsie: Let’s Do The Zydeco

Johnny “Guitar” Watson: Those Lonely Lonely Nights

Johnny “Guitar” Watson: Oh Ba-Ba-Baby

Earl King: Those Lonely Lonely Nights

Percy Mayfield: Vote For Me

Dr. John Conversation with Martino D’Lorenzo

Albert King: Pretty Woman

Clifton Chenier: Worried Life Blues

Peter “Madcat” Ruth: Scratch My Back

The Blues Brothers: Shotgun Blues

Martino D’Lorenzo: Blues Nightmare

Elmore James: Dust My Broom

Chuck Berry: Let It Rock

Chuck Berry: Reeling And Rocking

Buddy Guy: Red House



Hosted by Martino D’Lorenzo for Radio Free Amsterdam

Produced by Martin Gross at WEMU-FM, Ypsilanti MI

Post-production, editing & annotation by John Sinclair

Executive Producer: Steve Pratt

© 1983, 2018 Tino Gross. Used with permission.


Blues & Roots 34: Ain’t That Good News


Episode 34 features live music by Muddy Waters and cuts from Magic Slim & The Teardrops, John Primer, Bobby Rush, Toni Lynn Washington, Mighty Sam McClain, the Lyman Woodard Trio, Albert Collins, and Little Walter.

The John Sinclair Foundation Presents



John Sinclair, WWOZ-FM, New Orleans, May 14, 2000 [18468]

Little Walter: Juke

Muddy Waters: Rolling And Tumbling

Muddy Waters: Hoochie Coochie Man

Muddy Waters: Can’t Get No Grinding

Muddy Waters: I’m A Howling Wolf

Magic Slim & The Teardrops: Country Boy

John Primer: Knocking At Your Door

Bobby Rush: Feeling Bad

Toni Lynn Washington: Oh What A Dream

Mighty Sam McClain: All We Need Is Love

Lyman Woodard Trio: Ain’t That Good News

Albert Collins: Mr. Collins, Mr. Collins

Little Walter: Lights Out


Hosted by John Sinclair for Radio Free Amsterdam

Produced, edited, assembled & annotated by John Sinclair

Executive Producer: Steve Pratt

Special thanks to Leni & Sunnny Sinclair

© 2000, 2018 The John Sinclair Foundation